Falling for salad: Beet, Fennel & Orange

Beet, Fennel & Orange Salad

Beet, Fennel & Orange Salad

I love September  – the crisp clean air in the mornings, the cool nights, and ultimately the seasonal permission to start cooking with fall ingredients.   Don’t get me wrong: I also enjoy the summer but I am more of an “autumn” type person – cooking and otherwise.

I came up with this salad last week and realized it is one I can make right through the next few months…love the combination of fennel & beets, and then it just seemed right to add citrus to the mix.  I couldn’t find blood oranges (which would be the perfect accompaniment but I acknowledge they are not seasonal) but I made do with what I could find..

The colour combination is beautiful, and I love the silkiness/earthiness of the roast beets combined with the tartness of the orange and the crunchy fennel, and the saltiness of the added feta cheese on top just finishes it off perfectly.

Beet, Fennel & Orange Salad (for two)

1.   Toss 2 – 3 beets with generous splashings of olive oil and set in a roasting pan.  Roast until fork tender in the oven (move them around every 10-15 minutes to make sure all sides are getting equal roasting time).

2.  Remove beets from oven, let cool and then peel.  Chop into large pieces.

3.  Roughly chop up or slice one large fennel bulb after removing the green sprigs (you can keep these for garnish), the core and the outer layer.

4.  Peel and section 2 medium oranges.  Separate the fruit from segments.  Retain centre core.  Chop orange segments.

5.  To make dressing: squeeze remaining core of orange into small bowl to release juices & add olive oil, salt & pepper to taste.

6.  Mix chopped beets, fennel & orange.  Add the dressing and mix.  Garnish with feta  cheese & retained fennel green sprigs.

Enjoy!  Would love any suggestions on other additions / variations to this salad.

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falling for salad: Beet, Fennel & Orange

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Sounds absolutely delicious and it looks gorgeous. I love all the ingredients but have never put them all together before. I have done fennel and oranges and I have sprinkled orange zest on beets and I have had beets with feta. I am definitely going to try this combo.

Leave a Reply

