A simple meal of oysters

Oyster Feast

Oyster Feast

Although not everyone is a fan, I love raw oysters.  However, I don’t really eat them often in Toronto as they never seem quite “fresh” enough…but when on an island renowned for its oysters, oh my, time to indulge!

The SO and I just spent a wonderful four days on Prince Edward Island.  The weather was great, we were staying with the SO’s brother in a gorgeous location overlooking the ocean, we were outdoors nearly the whole time and…we ate lobster and oysters every day we were there.

On Sunday, we picked up three dozen oysters – plenty for four people…

Fresh oysters on the half shell, drizzled with some vodka, spritzed with lemon juice and dusted with ground black pepper…heaven!

A beautiful place, good friends, sunshine, an ocean view, wine and oysters.  Does life get any better?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Random musings, Seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A simple meal of oysters

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Life definitely doesn’t get better than that. Never had oysters drizzled with vodka. I’ll have to try. I usually have mine with a spritz of lemon and a few drops of Tabasco. They’re good at Rodney’s and several years ago I took an oyster shucking course at Oyster Boy — they were good there as well. Obviously not as fabulous as they would be if you just caught them, shucked them and ate them, but certainly still tasty.

    • kate magee says:

      The vodka and pepper was a new twist for me as well – courtesy of the SO’s brother…very very good! I am a huge fan of Oyster Boy as it is in the ‘hood but haven’t been in a while…thanks for the reminder 🙂

  2. I’ve never been able to get down a raw oyster. And now I see this photo, and I want to give it another go. How’d you make me do this? 🙂

Leave a Reply

