Zucchini / Courgette: Let’s call the whole thing off!

Zucchini "Boats' with kale, tomato, olives, onion, red pepper  & feta

Zucchini “Boats’ with kale, tomato, olives, onion, red pepper & feta

I have a love/hate relationship with zucchini.  Even when I try to call them courgettes, I am still haunted by the memories of the summer that my mother planted them in the garden….

Zucchini pancakes, zucchini chocolate cake, zucchini fritters,deep fried zucchini flowers, zucchini bread…We were eating zucchini for what felt like years after the harvest came in (freezers are not always a good thing…)

Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy zucchini in small doses: grated into an overall veggie mix, deep fried slices with lemon as a pasta sauce, marinated in balsamic vinegar & olive oil and grilled.  It is always in my fridge as a veggie staple. So I thought I’d venture out last night into the “zucchini boat”…

Zucchini Boat (for 1 person)

1.  Slice a large zucchini in half from tip to tail and then carve out the middle (seeds & all until you are close to the skin).  This was an excellent opportunity to use that serrated spoon that I bought years ago for eating grapefruit…until I realized that I don’t really eat grapefruit…

2.  In a microwave-proof bowl: mix 1/4 diced red onion, 1/2 diced red pepper and about 1 cup of diced kale (leaves & stems) and soften for about 2 – 3 minutes in the microwave. (This step could be done on the stovetop at a low/medium heat with a bit of olive oil).

3.  Take bowl out of microwave and add 1/2 large grated carrot, 1 large diced tomato and 100 g chopped kalamata olives.  You can also add what you’ve removed from the zucchini but don’t include the seeds.  Add salt & pepper to taste plus a splash of vinegar (I like cider or red wine vinegar).

4.  Grate 1/4 cup of feta cheese.

5.  Heap the two zucchini halves with the veggie filling and sprinkle the feta over top.

6.  I used my toaster oven to bake at 300 F for 20 minutes and then broiled for 2 minutes.

Although this was filing, delicious and totally met my needs, I have to be honest and admit that I still can’t get over my dislike of the taste of whole zucchini without any type of seasoning.  I loved the filling, the feta topping but the “boat” itself… meh!

If anyone has a wonderful zucchini recipe that they swear by, please share as I so do want to enjoy this veggie as much as possible…although probably won’t be planting it in my garden in the near future…

 

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Memories, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zucchini / Courgette: Let’s call the whole thing off!

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    I’m ambivalent about zucchini myself, I have to say. But I adore zucchini blossoms.

    • kate magee says:

      Thank you! I felt like I was a bit of a downer after this post but, really, couldn’t reconcile myself to raving. And the joy of having your own blog is that you can say what you want, right???

  2. Hilda says:

    We have all experienced one of those zucchini summers. It seems it’s feast or famine.
    I once learned, and now forgotten, a recipe my Mid. Eastern roommates in Spain made which I should try and recreate. They were whole stuffed zucchini (I still have the special tool for removing the seeds without breaking the vegetable) cooked in a lovely yogurt sauce.

    • kate magee says:

      Wow! If you find the tool, can you post a picture of it? I am fascinated to see what it looks like….imagining some kind of auger??? And would also love the recipe if you find the time 🙂

Leave a Reply

