A happy detour: Pea, Crab & Goat Cheese Pasta

Fresh Pea, Crab & Goat Cheese PastaEver have a menu plan that goes by the wayside when something better comes along?

That happened to me a few nights ago.  I was planning something for dinner that I can’t even remember at this point, and stopped by the local greengrocer to pick up some fruit & veggies…and then I spied them.  Fresh local Ontario peas!   The season for these is so short that I needed to do a complete course correction (pardon the pun).

So I arrived home with my bounty of peas – now what to do with them?  We had some crabmeat in the freezer so I pulled it out to defrost and used that time to sit out in the garden with the SO.  He made margaritas and I shelled peas.  A wonderful way to ease into dinner mode.

We also had some goat cheese in the fridge so here is what I came up with…

Fresh Peas, Crab & Goat Cheese Spaghettini (for 2)

1.  Shell about 250 grams of fresh peas and set aside.

2.  Start  a large pot of water boiling for the pasta.  Salt the water generously.  A good rule of thumb is that it should taste like sea water.  

3.  Start a generous splash of olive oil heating over medium low heat in a skillet.

4.  Chop up one large scallion and one small garlic clove, and add to the skillet.  Stir frequently until the scallion and garlic are softened.

5.  Add about 250 grams of crab meat  to the skillet and mix with the scallions (I used frozen crab meat as I’m lazy but you could use fresh crab meat if available).

6.  Add about 150 grams of goat cheese and stir until the goat cheese is mixed in.  Turn to low heat depending on your timing with the pasta cooking.

7.  When water is boiling, add the pasta.  Cook according to package directions.  When close to finish, scoop out about 1 cup of pasta water and set aside.

8.  When pasta is nearly done, increase heat under the skillet to medium and stir the fresh peas into the crab & goat cheese mixture.  If the sauce seems too dry, add a few splashes of your reserved pasta water until you have the consistency you like.

9.  Drain the pasta, dump back into the pot and add the crab, peas & goat cheese sauce.  Mix together well and serve alongside with a fresh green salad and a big chunk of Parmesan (with grater so people can add as much as they like).

An easy summer dinner that takes advantage of what the season has to offer.

While the peas are in season, any other recipe suggestions?

 

 

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A happy detour: Pea, Crab & Goat Cheese Pasta

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    I love, love, love fresh Ontario peas! Thanks for the heads up. I am going to look for them at the market tomorrow. Pasta with prosciutto and fresh peas is also amazing. And the peas, just steamed and tossed with some fresh mint are a wonderful side dish for lamb. Now I have made myself hungry!!!!

Leave a Reply

