How does your garden grow?

2014 Container Garden

2014 Container Garden

One of the things I love about summer is being able to harvest from my own garden. After last year’s nurturing of 8 tomato plants over many months with the result of tasting just one tomato, I went all-container this year. And I’ve already been able to indulge in a few tomatoes (albeit it they are tiny wee cherry tomatoes but, my goodness, how they burst in my mouth with sun-drenched flavour…)

This is the first summer I’ve planted lettuces – the Romaine is an amazing thing. I cut enough for a salad or two and a few days later, enough leaves have grown for another salad. Next summer, I am definitely planting more!  Alas, the chard is not doing as well…

Inspired by a post last week, I made a chimichurri sauce over the weekend with parsley & oregano from our “garden” along with our home made red wine vinegar. The other night we had it with grilled lamb chops rubbed with chopped rosemary from that same “garden” along with garlic – and it was amazing. Thank you Hungry Sofia for the chimichurri recipe!

Query for any garlic growers out there:  the SO is growing heirloom garlic this year in containers and they are coming up wonderfully but we have no idea what to do next.  Do we harvest in the fall?  Do we bring them indoors for the winter and then harvest in the spring?  Any tips would be much appreciated!

 

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How does your garden grow?

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    My mouth is watering. Those lamb chops sound AMAZING.

    • kate magee says:

      Eve if you have don’t have the chimichurri sauce, the rub is amazing (courtesy of one of my favourite Brit cooks – Nigel Slater). Chop up rosemary and garlic, blend with a bit of olive oil & coarse salt. Rub into your lamb chops about 10 minutes before grilling. Lovely!!!!

  2. Hilda says:

    Glad to hear your garlic is doing well – did it give you scapes? Just harvest them when they are ready (probably August or September at the latest) and put aside a few bulbs to plant in the fall.

    • kate magee says:

      No scapes this year unfortunately. Thanks for the tip. Any thoughts on whether we can leave the bulbs in their containers outdoors over the winter or should we bring the container in? Kate

  3. Barb Murray says:

    For two years I blamed the rabbits for my sparse chard crop, and this year with a rabbit barrier in place I’m still looking at a pretty sprindly production. Maybe it’s the variety? I think I’ll switch to something else next year.

Leave a Reply

