Can’t Forget the Sweets: Lime Squares

Lime Squares

Lime Squares

As regular readers of this blog will know, I am definitely a non-baker.  I don’t have a sweet tooth, nor do I have the patience required for the absolutely exact measurements in the chemistry of successful baking.

Which is why I was in a panic last weekend when the SO and I were hosting an open house.  I was totally focused on the savoury dishes, but totally forgot about the sweets! And I do know that fruit plates only go so far.   It meant a quick troll through my multiple cookbooks and a very old stand-by came to my rescue.

Many many years ago, my mother passed along “The Canadian Living Entertaining Cookbook” –  to give you context, it was published in 1990.  I don’t refer to it often as I have never had the need to host Gardening or Zodiac parties, but I did find a recipe that has become my new go-to recipe – not just easy and foolproof, but these lime squares have gotten very good reviews from tasters so far.  And you can make the whole thing in the food processor so very easy clean up!

Lime Squares (makes about 20 small squares)

1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  

2.  Grease and flour a 2 Litre square baking pan.  I actually just line the pan with parchment paper as I find it easier to lift out after baking in order to cut the squares.

3.  In a food processor, combine 250 mL flour, 125 mL butter and 50 mL sugar.  Mix well and press evenly into the pan.  Bake for 20 minutes or until golden.

4.  While the base is baking, use the food processor to mix 250 mL sugar, 25 mL flour, 2 mL baking powder, 2 lightly beaten eggs with the grated rind from two limes and 50 mL of lime juice.

5.  Spread the topping over the base and return to the over for 20 to 25 minutes (until nearly set).   Let cool in the pan.

6.  Cut into squares and dust with icing sugar.

The original recipe called for lemons but I ran out of lemons so I used limes instead and actually find the extra tartness of the limes balances really well with the sugar.  You could also make this with oranges although I haven’t tried that yet.

This is a bit of a retro recipe but sometimes “tried & true” is best!

 

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can’t Forget the Sweets: Lime Squares

  1. nimmiafzal says:

    tooo good!!
    woww…happy to discover this amazing blog…new like and follow from adorable life….

  2. fransiweinstein says:

    I am not into sweets either, nor do I bake — for the same reasons, btw — but these squares sound very good!

  3. Hilda says:

    I do like sweets, love to bake, and these still look great. By the way, limes are back to normal after a distressing hike in prices, so besides the odd lime-infused drink, what better way to celebrate?

Leave a Reply

