Cure for an Indulgent Weekend: Spanish Veggies & Eggs

Easy Sunday dinner: Spanish Veggie & Eggs

Easy Sunday dinner: Spanish Veggie & Eggs

Ever have one of those weekends when you just end up on Sunday night wanting something easy, wholesome and healthy?

We had an overly indulgent weekend due to an open house reception hosted by the SO on Saturday.  I took care of the food and tried to be as healthy as possible:  chickpea & white bean hummus with veggies, guacamole, and orzo salad.  But I did foray into other dishes I don’t normally make such as devilled eggs (with crab) and lemon squares.  My cooking clogs got a very good work-out on Friday!

And then Saturday was full on in terms of enjoying the spread…

By the time we got to Sunday, I was happy to just spend a few hours relaxing with a book.  And I was totally inspired by An Everlasting Meal: Cooking with Economy & Grace by Tamar Adler.  Her cooking ethos is totally aligned with mine: cook locally, seasonally and try to make the most out of your ingredients.  And she quotes M.F.K. Fisher, one of my early inspirations, throughout! Last night, I tried my hand at a recipe in Tamar’s book.

I can’t quite remember what the recipe is called so here’s my version:

Spanish Veggies & Eggs (for 2 people)

1.  Add a few generous splashes of good olive oil to a large skillet over medium heat.

2.  Add 3 finely minced garlic cloves and 1 diced onion.  Sprinkle a dash of salt over the onions & garlic and then let them start cooking down, stirring occasionally.

3.  Chop up about 3 cups of any good sturdy dark green leafy vegetable, including the stems (I used kale) and add to the skillet.  Stir in with the garlic & onions.

4.  Core and chop up about 6 – 8 ripe tomatoes (I used Roma’s as I find they have the best flavour) and then stir them into the mixture.

5.  Cover the skillet and let everything simmer away, stirring occasionally for about 20 minutes.

6.  If you like, chop up some olives and add them plus some brine to the skillet part way through.  At this point, you can also add some lemon juice, or a splash of wine, or water…if the mixture is looking a little dry, just add whatever liquid appeals to your fancy.

7.  Let simmer until everything is soft.   Depending on the number of eggs you want to use, use a spoon to create that number of holes in the sauce.  Break each egg into one of the holes and cover the pan.

8.  Let cook covered, over medium-low heat, until the egg whites are set and the egg yolks are the consistency you like them.

Serve out of the pan at the table.  I grilled slices of baguette with olive oil and then rubbed each piece with garlic to serve alongside as there is wonderful juices and tidbits to be sopped out of the bowl…

This could just as easily work for a brunch or lunch.   Let me know if you have any thoughts on variations on the recipe…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cure for an Indulgent Weekend: Spanish Veggies & Eggs

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Love the sound of this. Must give it a try.

  2. Hilda says:

    I make many variations of this, but for some reason never put olives in. I will do that next time. Thanks for a lovely recipe.

Leave a Reply

