Easy dinner: Orzo & Everything Salad

Orzo & Everything Salad

Orzo & Everything Salad

I found myself at home on Sunday night with the desire to create a meal that easy & healthy, but the fridge / pantry seemed rather bare.  So I started foraging…

I am also in the process of trying to clear out / use up whatever is in the cupboards as there is a move happening at some point in the next few months and the thought of packing & moving is overwhelming enough, let alone when you add in shifting all the cans and jars of various foodstuffs…

I started with the thought of a couscous salad but, apparently, I have depleted my couscous supplies.  However, I did find half a bag of orzo so figured that would work just as well.

And it started from there…

Went into my store of past canning exploits and found pickled green beans, carrots and cauliflower.  Then discovered a can of sliced black olives (which I don’t like as they really don’t have much flavour but I think I bought these for a muffalata recipe last summer) and  a jar of marinated artichokes (I used the marinade as the dressing for the salad). Threw in some chopped up cherry tomatoes, grated a zucchini and crumbled some feta…presto, dinner!

The great thing about this type of salad is that you can use orzo, couscous, or quinoa as the base and just build on it depending on what you have available.  It would be great with sun-dried tomatoes, marinated eggplant, grated carrot, and I could go on.

So I ended up with a great dinner (and enough leftovers for a few lunches) in addition to decreasing the jars & cans that have to be moved…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy dinner: Orzo & Everything Salad

  1. Liz says:

    I love versatile salads like this one. Most of those ingredients are my favourites. I love olives and carrots and cauliflower. I would love to eat this salad for lunch. I always love eating salads at lunch time!!!

Leave a Reply

