At long last: grilled Asian venison kebabs

Grilled Asian Venison Skewers

Grilled Asian Venison Skewers

For those of us who have been recovering from the long long Ontario winter, actually venturing out to throw something on the BBQ feels like a great liberty after the ongoing challenge of winter.  We’re finally throwing down the gloves and saying “enough”; even if it is raining & overcast, we will light up the grill!  And the more ‘tropical” we can make the meal, the better – we went for memories of Bali.

If you’re like me, you probably have umpteen collected recipes pulled out of magazines that you file away and hope to try one day.  And I actually put one of those to use this past weekend.  And I am so glad I did…this is a recipe for grilled Asian beef kebabs from a few years ago that I’ve been holding onto just waiting for the right opportunity.

Of course, we substituted venison for beef (as we work through the venison collection in the freezer).   With this recipe, the venison was more tender than I’ve ever tasted, so I can only imagine how wonderfully tender it would be with beef.  I was only able to marinate the meat for two hours – I am already waiting for the next opportunity when I can let it marinate for 6+ hours…

I am the first to admit that I am crap at cooking rice (comes from relying on my rice cooker for the last twenty years) so the SO was  on rice – as well as grill – duty.  He had the brilliant idea of adding saffron that we picked up in Bali last year.  We added a few generous spoonfuls to the boiling water before adding the rice and it turned out with a gorgeous deep yellow colour.  And given the Asian flavours in the meat marinade (peanuts, garlic, coriander, cumin, soya sauce, etc.), as well as the mango salad I made, it was as close as we could get to Bali while still in North America.

There is something so satisfying about sliding pieces of wonderfully grilled meat of a skewer and diving in to enjoy them….

Now that grilling season is here, does anyone have any other wonderful meat marinades to share?

 

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At long last: grilled Asian venison kebabs

  1. Hilda says:

    Thanks for a very timely recipe. I was just cleaning out my freezer and found two packages of venison I must use before we get more meat. Since we are having guests (from TO) on the weekend, I will make this one.
    I usually marinade my venison with very local flavours – juniper berries, wild grape ketchup or crab apple concentrate with a few other standard ingredients. But look forward to trying something different.

    • kate magee says:

      Thanks for the comment Hilda – I also love using local flavours but sometimes crave the Asian stuff. Let me know how it goes! Kate

    • kate magee says:

      Hi Hilda, I’m glad that the timing worked 🙂 I’ve used juniper to flavour venison in the past but not wild grape or crab apple…will have to try that next. I am always looking for new ways to marinade venison as there is always a large supply in the freezer… Kate

  2. Barb says:

    Hi,

    This works really well on flank steak, so may be good for venison.
    1/2 bunch cilantro, stems & leaves
    2 garlic cloves
    1 tbsp minced ginger
    2 tbsp each soy sauce, fresh lemon juice, hoisin sauce
    1 tsp hot Asian chili sauce
    Put everything in the food processor and blend well.
    Marinate meat sealed up tightly for 2 – 12 hours.
    I know it has cilantro!, maybe just substitute another sharp green.

    Barb

Leave a Reply

