Culinary Inspiration: Roast Duck

Roast Duck

Roast Duck

The less time I have available to indulge in my favourite past time,  the weaker my imagination for new dishes and flavour combinations.  In the last few weeks, it feels like my passion for cooking has simply atrophied.  But I am happy to report that I went from zero to sixty on Sunday!

It was the SO’s birthday yesterday so we decided to prepare a proper birthday feast for the family.  The original plan was to do roast chicken with all the fixings but when we got to the store on Saturday morning, whole ducks were on sale.  Although neither of us had prepared duck before…I figured we’d just wing it (pardon the pun).

So there were suddenly two ducks sitting in the fridge, and I had no idea what to do with them. Epicurious came to the rescue with a Roast Duck with Port-Garlic Sauce recipe from Bon Appetit (December 1997).   There were the usual hiccups along the way – we didn’t have smooth Dijon mustard so we used a mixture of grainy Dijon and fines herbes mustards, and the cork disintegrated upon opening the bottle of port for the sauce so there was much decanting, sieving and, of course, tasting…we had to make sure it hadn’t gone off!

The house smelled amazing as the ducks (rubbed with soy sauce, mustard, garlic, and thyme) roasted and the port & garlic sauce simmered…my creative cooking juices have started stirring again.

And my mother, the ultimate foodie, arrives on Tuesday so there will be much sharing of recipes, cooking and subsequent posts to look forward to!

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Culinary Inspiration: Roast Duck

  1. Hilda says:

    Glad you got it back. Those ducks sound delicious.

  2. fransiweinstein says:

    Sounds fabulous! I love duck. I’ve only ever made it with grand marnier but I do like my port so I will give this recipe a try.

Leave a Reply

