Spicy Vegetable Stew

Spicy Vegetable Stew

Spicy Vegetable Stew

While the snowstorm yesterday left a beautiful white blanket of deep snow over everything, it was definitely a night to stay in and hunker down.  I was craving vegetables but somehow a salad just didn’t seem quite right.  I wanted warmth, coziness, comfort from my dinner.  It was that kind of night.

As I had to walk the pup, I ventured out the few blocks to my local fruit & veg store and came home with all the ingredients for a simple and quick vegetable stew.  You can make this as serene or spicy as you like – depending on your tastes but it took less than ten minutes of prep time and I was happily dining about an hour after I started the cooking process.

Spicy Vegetable Stew (for 4)

Start a few splashes of olive oil heating over medium heat in a pot.  Roughly dice 1/2 large yellow onion and 4 stalks of celery & toss into the pot to start cooking.  Then roughly dice 2 large carrots, 1 medium zucchini and 1 medium eggplant – toss these into the pot as you cut them up, stirring into the mix each time.

Drain a 450 ml (19 oz) can of chickpeas in a colander and rinse under running water.  Shake dry and toss into the pot, stirring in.  Then open a 796 ml (28 oz) can of tomatoes and toss into the pot along with the liquid.   Fill the empty tomato can with water and add this to the pot, stir everything together, breaking down the tomatoes with your spoon.  

Let simmer, uncovered, over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally.  Depending on how “soupy” you like your stew, you may want to add more water.

I wanted some spice in my stew but discovered my tube of harissa paste was finished so I added a few splashes of sriracha instead.   The spicy level depends on your taste…

Allow the stew to simmer for at least an hour for the flavours to blend and then serve…

I added some crumblings of feta cheese on the top and had cornbread on the side, but this is also amazing served over couscous.

Now I’m just looking forward to enjoying the leftovers tonight 🙂

 

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

