Serendipity & Success! Homemade Red Wine Vinegar

Homemade Red Wine Vinegar

Homemade Red Wine Vinegar

I love it when a dream comes true!

OK…for some, making your own red wine vinegar may seem a minor dream, but I have been working on this project since last summer.  If you’re a regular follower of this blog you might remember my SOS for tips last July.

One of the big challenges I had was finding the “mother” (similar to a starter in yogurt or sourdough bread).  I was ready to buy it online…then serendipity happened!  Just after my SOS post, I reached up for the last dregs of my red wine vinegar – lo & behold, there was a mother already in the bottle!  I was NOT going to let that go to waste…

So we started our red wine vinegar project.  Using one of those ceramic wine coolers (the type you pour the ice into and then nestle the bottle) as our cask, we poured in the precious mother, added about 1.5 cups of red wine, covered the whole thing with a quadruple layer of cheesecloth (to allow air in / keep particles out) and then we started feeding it.  A half glass here, a cup there…sometimes it was the dregs from dinner parties & sometimes it was deliberate, but we made sure to top up the cask at least weekly.

The cold weather has been a challenge as the cask started its life in the garage.  Without context, frantic texts to the SO last month about my worries about the cold “killing the mother” might have landed authorities on our doorstep.  But it did migrate into the laundry room…

We’d given it over three months to mature and our taste test was last week…and it was lovely. A true vinegar with the acidity tempered by the richness and depth of the wine.

I started decanting today and can’t wait to use it!

But I am now very protective of my mother and am going to keep the cask going for the next batch!

Any tips on interesting ways to use red wine vinegar other than in salad dressings are much appreciated – if you want to share…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Serendipity & Success! Homemade Red Wine Vinegar

  1. Pingback: Early Inspiration for a Foodie | tea & tamarind

Leave a Reply

