To Market, To Market…

La Boqueria, Barcelona

La Boqueria, Barcelona

I am a sucker for a good public market.  And I am missing them.  Maybe it’s the cold weather right now that makes me want to just stay indoors but I have been dreaming of all the wonderful markets I have visited over the years.

My mother introduced me to markets early – taking me along on trips to local food markets when we lived in the Philippines, Costa Rica and Montreal.  Plunging into a market is where I am happy: the more chaotic, widespread and colourful, the better!

When I travel, hitting the local market is one of the best ways to get a sense of the place and the local food.  I have visited (and frequently haggled) in markets across Africa, Asia, North America and Europe.  So…I thought I’d share my top 5 personal favourites:

1.  Granville Island Market, Vancouver

2.  La Boqueria, Barcelona

3.  Borough Market, London

4.  Kensington Market, Toronto

5.  Central Market, Riga

These five are all different in some ways – some are under one central building, others sprawl over blocks –  but they are the same in the amazing assortment of incredible goodies available, wonderful aromas and colours, and not just being a tourist attraction – all these markets are where locals shop.

What are your favourite public markets?  I might just have to visit in my future travels…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Memories, Random musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Market, To Market…

  1. cdvto says:

    My favourite market is Loblaws, Dupont….not the same huh!

Leave a Reply

