Skillet Corn Bread for A Cold Winter’s Night

Skillet Corn Bread

Skillet Corn Bread

We are under an extreme cold weather warning here in Toronto (it’s minus 34 this morning with the windchill!) so last night was an evening to stay tucked inside enjoying the warmth and, of course, soup.

I usually only bake corn bread to go along with my mother’s recipe for chili (an old family standby that we grew up on) but I was inspired by a random conversation yesterday afternoon to try my hand at corn bread to go with the roasted celeriac soup I had made the night before.   And I had all the ingredients on hand so no extra chilly trips outside were required…

I decided to dress it up a bit with some olives, shallots and cheddar cheese and I used a rough ground corn meal which added great texture.  The end result was delicious and perfect with the soup.

Skillet Corn Bread*

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  

Heat 1/4 cup of olive oil in a small skillet and add 2 large shallots (diced).  While these are cooking, beat together 1 egg with 2 tbs of honey and 1 cup of milk and set aside.

Combine 1 cup of flour with 1 cup of corn meal, 3 tbs of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt.  Then add the egg/milk mixture and stir in until well-blended.  Add the shallots (along with the olive oil they were cooked in), 1/4 cup of chopped olives and 1/2 cup of grated cheddar.

Pour mixture into a well-oiled skillet (or you can use a baking pan) and bake for 25 to 30 minutes (or until brown and firm on top).

Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 10.07.24 AMThe skillet worked well, but my mother has the best cast iron pan for baking corn bread. It looks something like this and it was such a treat as a kid to eat corn bread that was shaped like ears of corn…I might just have to try to find myself one of these to add to my cast iron collection.

*Adapted from Moosewood Cookbook

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Memories, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Skillet Corn Bread for A Cold Winter’s Night

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Happy New Year, Katherine. all the best for 2014. Do you believe these temperatures? Holy moley it’s cold!! I have the Moosewood Vegetarian cookkbook. It has some wonderful recipes — one of my favourites iis the mushroom barley soup. I am sure you’d like it.

  2. Hilda says:

    I am inspired to make your cornbread today – along with the potato bread I am already making. I have some beautiful olives to use up – I kept forgetting to serve them. Cornbread will be a good place to start.

  3. Catherine says:

    What size skillet????

  4. Pingback: Sour Cream-Jalapeno Corn Bread

Leave a Reply

