I Could Eat A Horse…

With Christmas a week ago and my birthday yesterday, I was the very lucky and happy recipient of many wonderful “foodie” gifts: truffle oil, a Swiss vegetables peeler, beautiful (and practical) cookbooks, gorgeous salts, cooking lessons, and the list goes on…

But the one that tickled my fancy most was the this one from the SO:

I Could Eat A Horse Pasta Measurer (DOIY Design)

I Could Eat A Horse Pasta Measurer (DOIY Design)

We were having a debate a few weeks ago about how much pasta is appropriate per serving…I usually tend to wing it and then go way overboard on the amount of pasta.  But it appears that DOIY Design has solved that problem for me!  Especially with the kid/woman/man/horse gradients 🙂

I try to live by the words of William Morris when acquiring new things for the home:

 Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful

I think this gift, with its practical whimsy, achieves both of these goals.

Happy 2014!

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Could Eat A Horse…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    What a BRILLIANT idea and gift!! And belated Happy Birthday! And happy, healthy New Year!! Hope your 2014 is nothing short of spectacular!

  2. Barb says:

    What a fun gadget – mine is not nearly as imaginative.
    Cheers and good eating in 2014.

  3. Happy birthday! Love that thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

