Stocking Stuffers for Foodies…

I realize that I am totally ‘singing to the choir’ here by offering up some suggestions for foodie-favourite stocking stuffers but it may inspire some ideas for hints to loved ones, or you could just leave this screen open to inspire those loved ones as they walk by ūüôā

These suggestions are not just from my own experience; ¬†I ¬†also went out to my tried & true foodie network* for ideas. ¬†Below a compilation of ideas if you have approximately $25 or under to spend on a “foodie” stocking stuffer:

OXO 9″ tongs

Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 4.37.28 PMI love anything OXO for their design and utility, and cannot imagine my kitchen without these tongs. ¬†They are easy to use, fit any hand and useful in many different ways: ¬†turning meat as it’s browning, tossing pasta, lifting hot items out of steaming pots, etc. ¬†And this is one kitchen tool where it is worth spending just a little more money…

Lee Valley Rasp

Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 4.38.31 PMAlthough originally designed as a woodmaker’s tool, this has been an essential thing in my kitchen for zesting citrus fruits and creating fine Parmesan shreds. ¬†And after 10+ years, still going strong. ¬†I’m not sure if these are available outside of Canada but definitely worth looking for.

Kitchen Scale

Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 4.40.04 PMI have moved more & more towards measuring all my ingredients rather than relying on measuring cups, for a more accurate measure (especially when baking). A quality slimline electronic scale is perfect for this; just make sure you get one that allows you to reset to zero after you add the container (ie. mixing bowl) on top of the scale before adding ingredients.

Kitchen Timer

Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 4.41.21 PMIf you read this blog regularly, ¬†you will know that I’m a bit of “fly by the seat of my pants” cook but I have come to recognize the importance of timing…not just in cooking, but all things. ¬†I like a timer that has both the minute & hour ability but some may prefer second & minute. ¬†I love my timer for its magnet and clip – I can stick it anywhere or clip it on an apron if I’m wandering around doing other things…

Box Grater with Rubber Grip Bottom

Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 4.42.14 PMYet again, a wonderful OXO product Рa four sided box grater for anything from cheese, to carrots & cabbage for cole slaw, or potatoes for latkes.  The great thing about this is that the rubber grip bottom Рit will not move despite the effort you are putting into the grating process and I love the attachable measuring cup on the bottom.

Wooden Spoons

photo 2 (3) - Version 2To end on a traditional note, we probably all have a few wooden spoons floating around our kitchens but any cook can always use more Рand they are easy to pick up at craft fairs.  Beyond the spoons, I am also a huge fan of  the flat spatula type wooden utensils Рamazing for scrambling eggs or scraping up the fond in a good stew or roast.

When I ¬†asked my “test kitchen” for their suggestions, I asked two questions (assuming a $20 price limit):

1. ¬†What do you currently use in your kitchen that you can’t do without?

2.  What is the one thing that you would love to have?

So…how would you answer these two questions?

*Thank you to Maggie, Barb et al for your input!

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stocking Stuffers for Foodies…

  1. Gail says:

    1. A 7 inch Strauss frying pan – I bought it on sale at Capital Iron in Victoria a few years ago – it was expensive (by my standards), but I use it all the time.
    2. I have put the word out for Christmas that I want a digital kitchen scale (thanks for the hint about being able to reset it after you place the container on top).

Leave a Reply

