Home is the Hunter…

Venison Tenderloin with a Port Rosemary Garlic Jus

Venison Tenderloin with a Port Rosemary Garlic Jus

The SO arrived home yesterday from ‘hunt camp’ – stoked on testosterone after a successful week up north.  He bagged a 10 point buck – I don’t even know what this means but apparently it is a big thing…

Amongst various pieces of venison destined for the freezer & butchering, he offered up two gorgeous small tenderloins.  I’ve never cooked tenderloin of any kind before but I think I managed to acquit myself well…with a bit of research online & into my stash of cookbooks.

Venison Tenderloin with a Port Rosemary and Garlic Jus (for two)

Finely chop up 2 cloves of garlic and the leaves from four sprigs of rosemary.  Reserve 1/4 of the chopped rosemary and mix the remainder with the garlic and about a tablespoon of coarse sea salt.

Pat the tenderloins fairly dry and rub with the rosemary, garlic and salt mixture.

Heat a few splashes of olive oil and some butter in a pan (at about medium heat) and then add the tenderloins.  Let brown well on all sides, add a few splashes of port (I prefer red but you could use white or tawny) just as you finish cooking the tenderloin and remove meat from the pan.  Reduce heat to medium-low, add a few more splashes of port and the remaining rosemary and stir together, making sure to get all the lovely bits from the bottom of the pan mixed in well.  Let the sauce reduce and remove from heat.

Plate the tenderloins and pour the jus overtop. 

The venison was tender and lovely with parsnip puree, steamed green beans and a simple arugula salad.

For Canadian readers, there was a great article in yesterday’s Globe & Mail about cooking with game.  I’m anxious to try the Wild Boar Ragu (as I have very fond memories of trying an amazing version of this recipe in Tuscany many years ago…) – I just need to find a local butcher who stocks wild boar.

PS – another thing for Canadian readers, see if you can make out the logo on the silverware in the photo 🙂

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home is the Hunter…

  1. Maggie says:

    Cooking with game is always interesting; I remember being challenged by a roast of caribou (and a hotel kitchenette oven in Inuvik) destined to become our Christmas dinner, it turned out great. I just checked my ‘silverware’ cabinet and found two knives, but no forks. Not sure if they were liberated more recently from the Royal York Hotel or may have come from my mother’s collection acquired by her father? Do you know?

    • kate magee says:

      I really need to find out more details about the roast caribou & hotel oven! But knowing you, I don’t doubt it turned out amazingly. And you win the prize for guessing right on the silverware – CP (which the Royal York was once part of)! Did not come from Nan’s collection…was acquired by non-familial sources 🙂

Leave a Reply

