Dining Solo…

Dining Solo

Dining Solo

While waiting for a friend at a local bistro a few nights ago I was fascinated by a woman sitting by herself, reading a book and enjoying a wonderful meal and a glass of wine.  She looked like someone that I wanted to know – confident & interesting…and I admired her courage in going out to enjoy a meal on her own.

I spend a lot of time in my own company, and I have absolutely no problem travelling on my own, going to movies/galleries/theatre on my own, even going out for lunch on my own but I have one final stumbling block – the solo dinner in my own city.  I will happily eat alone when I am travelling – spent two months in Joburg dining solo at the same cafe nearly every night because my guesthouse didn’t provide dinner – but I really hesitate at doing this in my own city.  Perhaps this is because I associate dining out with catching up with friends?

There was a recent radio show on CBC (Canadian version of BBC or NPR) about spending time alone and one listener called in to say that when he sees a woman dining alone, he wonders if she’s been stood up.  That hadn’t even occurred to me although I do remember sitting in a restaurant in NYC years ago watching a poor man beside us wait and wait and wait…with much avid speculation on our part.

Maybe I worry that someone I know will see me dining alone & will wonder why I don’t have friends to dine with?   But you know what…I’m getting too old to worry about that stuff.

“They” say to try something new & brave every day and I feel this is my challenge – before the end of 2013, I will go out to a wonderful local restaurant solo…now I just expect all of you to hold me to it!

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dining Solo…

  1. Carol says:

    Well I would suggest I join you but it seems that wouldn’t work…I will hold you to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

