A Taste of Sunshine…

Brazilian Black Bean Soup

Brazilian Black Bean Soup

Autumn is easily my favourite season for a number of reasons:  I get wear sweaters and boots again, the air is crisp, the leaves change to gorgeous colours and I start cooking soups & stews.

I really didn’t like soup when I was younger but I have become a huge fan over the years.  Comforting, healthy and so many types of soups to choose from.  I was inspired by a few recent posts on some of my favourite food blogs:

But last night I went back to an old favourite soup recipe that comes from my tattered, stained and well-used copy of Moosewood Cookbook and has been adapted slightly over the years:  Brazilian Black Bean Soup.   Although it may seem odd initially to add oranges and orange juice to a bean soup, on a cold fall night, that burst of citrus in a hearty soup always reminds me of summer.

Brazilian Black Bean Soup (serves 4)

Rinse and drain a large can of black beans in a colandar in the sink.  

Heat about 2 tbs of olive oil in a pot and saute 1 medium chopped onion with 2 cloves of crushed garlic, 1 large chopped carrot, and 2 stalks of chopped celery until soft and then add the beans.  (I smoosh up about 1/3 of the beans with a fork before adding if I want a thicker texture).

Add 1 cup of water (you can use chicken or vegetable broth if you like) and the juice from two oranges.   I also added1 cup of baby spinach to add some greens but this is optional.  Peel and segment two oranges and cut the segments into chunks: throw these into the soup.

Cook everything together for about 10 minutes and then enjoy!

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Fruit, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Taste of Sunshine…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Soup is my favourite meal. Will definitely try this. Thanks.

    • Gail says:

      Looks great Katherine – we stopped for lunch yesterday in Ladner at a little place called Localz Urban Cafe and I had a bowl of their coconut, curry, chicken soup . . . it was delicious. I’m wondering if you have ever made something similar and if you might have a recipe for it. We’re finally seeing some sunshine here in the Gulf Islands after many days of fog. . . SunnyYaYa!
      P.S. Check out our website – waterfront home for sale on B.C.’s beautiful Mayne Island

      • kate magee says:

        Hey there – great to hear from you! Unfortunately I have never made coconut curry chicken soup…but now I feel that I must so I can share a recipe with you…my list of new soups to make keeps growing 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

