Waiting, waiting, waiting…

Green Pea Hummus

Green Pea Hummus

For my telecom provider to get here and fix the glitches that invaded yesterday morning right in the middle of a client conference call…I’ve been intermittently without internet access and/or my landline for over 24 hours.   And I can’t leave the house because I know the minute I do is when they will arrive.   Thank goodness for my iPhone which is the only reliable means of communication with the outside world right now.

During a break from working (offline) this morning, I took a random poke inside my freezer.  And discovered half a bag of frozen peas…and inspiration struck.

Perhaps it was the lovely side dish of mushy peas that I had with my fish & chips last week in London?  Or my ongoing desire for green healthy food as part of my vacation detox?  Or a general feeling that I needed to do something with that half a bag of peas that I have been staring at for the last 6 months every time I open the freezer door?   Regardless, I figured it was time to take action.  The result was a lovely bright green pea hummus which I can’t wait to spread on crackers.

Pea Hummus

Take half a bag of frozen peas and cook until tender.   Drain and throw into the food processor with two large garlic cloves, 1.5 tablespoons of tahini, juice from half a lemon and salt to taste.   Whirr it all together.  You may want to add a splash of olive oil to get the right texture.

I make a variation on this in the summer to serve with cut up vegetables:  use shelled frozen edamame (soy beans) instead of peas,  miso paste instead tahini, and add a squirt of wasabi for some heat.   Excellent!

And still waiting…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waiting, waiting, waiting…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Sounds delicious. I intensely dislike all telecom providers.

Leave a Reply

