Vacation Detox

Broccoli Soup

Broccoli Soup

In my world, there are no such things as calories on holidays.   One of the joys of travelling is having the time to enjoy wonderful food.  We just spent ten days in Riga and London, sharing many amazing meals with family and friends.

I am now back home with fond memories of roast boar, fresh crab, potato pancakes, roasted beets, mussels, smoked eel, duck confit, lemon polenta cake, mushroom wellington, fish & chips…and the list goes on…

However, I am definitely ready to dive into vacation detox mode.  I am craving simple meals, small portions and lots of fresh green things.  My mother has a phrase whenever she comes back from an indulgent vacation: “It’s time for soup & salad”.    In that spirit, I made a batch of broccoli soup last night and it was a lovely first meal back.

Broccoli Soup (for two)

Chop up half an onion and saute it in a splash of olive oil.   While the onion is cooking, chop up one potato and three heads of broccoli (stems and florets).  When the onion is soft, add the potato and broccoli to the pot along with 1.5 cups of broth.  Cover the pot and cook for about 20 minutes on medium low heat.    I then use a hand blender to puree everything right in the pot but you can use a blender or food processor.   Add a dollop of yogurt to the soup once it is in the bowl and enjoy.

I add the potato for creaminess and because I like a thick soup but you can leave out the potato or add more liquid when cooking if you like.  This recipe also works well if you want to substitute squash or cauliflower for the broccoli.

And I have avocados and bananas ripening on the counter in anticipation of my breakfast smoothie tomorrow morning.  Who knew detoxing could taste so good?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

