When life gives you figs…

Fresh figs

Fresh figs

As you know, I love figs…so I was inspired by a recent post at CupCake Travels to make fig jam this afternoon.

I don’t have a sweet tooth: the rare times I have toast & jam for breakfast, I am a die-hard Bonne Maman Raspberry Jam fan (I have been known to bring jars back from Europe) so I was very surprised to find myself making fig jam this afternoon.

Why?  I realized that I always have a jar in my pantry: forget breakfast toast, it is my go-to spread on a few other key dishes.  Spread lavishly over panettone, it forms the amazing base for a luxurious (figgy) bread pudding.  I also count on it for my emergency appetizer:

Fig & Asiago Nibbles

You can use any type of pre-baked bread (ie. naan, pita, pizza crust).  Spread generously with fig jam and then sprinkle with grated asiago.  Grill under the broiler until the asiago is bubbling & brown, and remove.  Cut up into strips or squares…wonderful combination of sweet & savoury.

Although I love to can and pickle, this was my first attempt at jam so we will have to see how my experiment with pectin works.  Three pounds of figs produced seven 250-ml jars: bring on the bread pudding!

Would love any ideas on how else to use my jars of fig jam…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When life gives you figs…

  1. Ooh, thank you for this idea – we have a few aperitifs planned as we start our farewell rounds here in France – this will come in very handy! 🙂

  2. tveysey says:

    I may be channelling Galen Weston but the cheese-fig combo is a good one – brie and fig wrapped in phyllo pastry. Also, I’ve had a to die for fig croissant so that may open up a whole new experiment?!

  3. fiammisday says:

    Lovely idea and blog!!! I’m a new follower from ITALY!!! Kisses. Simona

Leave a Reply

