An Introvert’s Simple Dinner…

An Introvert's Simple Meal

An Introvert’s Simple Meal

I find that the last few months haven’t been about my  “work/life” balance; I’ve been working hard to find the “work/life/teaching/volunteering/dog/etc.” balance.

One of the best descriptions I’ve ever heard of introverts versus extroverts is not about how they interact with people; it’s about how they recharge their batteries.  After a long day, extroverts want to go out and be with people.  Introverts, on the other hand, just want to go home, sit alone on the couch with a glass of wine and stare at the wall.  I am a lifelong introvert and I have to admit that I’ve been missing my couch and wall…

But yesterday, I managed to top up the batteries.  I found myself in a lovely part of town with a spare half hour between meetings and errands mid-day.  I could have made calls or checked emails but instead, I found a park and just sat with the sun on my face and the wind in my hair, enjoying a delicious sandwich and watching people go by.   It was such a treat.

And the day got even better.  I ended up with a very rare night at home after meeting some late afternoon / early evening deadlines.  I haven’t cooked for myself in months and I didn’t feel like anything too elaborate but I felt the need to create something healthy, green and wholesome in the kitchen.  After foraging, I came up with a lovely salad full of yummy things like feta cheese, avocado, pickled asparagus, and cucumbers.  Then I found some frozen olive bread in the freezer (which is packed to the gills right now with tons of fresh summer fruit) which after defrosting, grilling and then putting under the broiler with some grated Parmesan,  was the perfect mix with my salad.

A very simple summer meal…and I had a great evening hanging out with my dinner companions: the couch and the wall.

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Introvert’s Simple Dinner…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    As someone who also loves her couch and wall I can totally relate.

Leave a Reply

