Loving Figs…

Grilled Figs with Balsamic Vinegar Reduction on Brown Sugar Yoghurt

Grilled Figs with Balsamic Vinegar Reduction on Brown Sugar Yoghurt

I have loved fresh figs since a trip to Turkey many years ago.   Every breakfast seemed to include figs along with olives, feta cheese, cucumber, hardboiled eggs and the best yoghurt I’ve ever had.  And so the love affair began…

I love this time of year when fresh figs start to appear in the local fruit & veggie stores…I’m in my happy place.  There’s nothing like biting into a fig just at the perfect point of ripeness and enjoying all that lushness…

But I had never tried grilling figs, despite years of being intrigued by recipes.  So…it was time to venture into the grilled fruit territory.

Last Saturday night, the SO was handed a number of halved figs with instructions to leave them cut side down on the BBQ until they got grill marks.  While he was amenably acquiescing (thankfully!), I was busy reducing balsamic vinegar on the stove top.   I also wanted to create a base so I mixed some yogurt we had in the fridge with a bit of brown sugar.   And it came together incredibly: the carmelized sweetness of the figs, the creaminess of the yoghurt and the tartness of the balsamic reduction.  Heaven!

Next time (and there will be a next time), we could grill the figs a little longer, I won’t reduce the vinegar so long (came out more in blobs than a sauce) and instead of yogurt, I want to try them with a generous dollop of ricotta.   John at Mastering the Art of Pigging Out posted a recipe for homemade ricotta a while back that I’ve been meaning to try and I think fig season is the perfect excuse 🙂

Interesting fact: I know their leaves have been strategically placed through literature and classical art but who knew that figs are the most often mentioned fruit in the Bible???

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Fruit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Loving Figs…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Sounds scrumptuous. I like them just plain, with prosciutto. They are also good topped with some gorgonzola and broiled in the oven until the cheese bubbles.

  2. Barbara Murray says:

    I like them on my home made pizza, with mozarella. Yum.

  3. Barbara Murray says:

    Gorgeous photo, btw

  4. Love figs! My little celeste fig tree has been in the ground almost 1 year. Unfortunately the birds ate all of this year’s figs (12) when they were small. Next spring the bird net is covering the tree. So far it’s doubled in size so next year should be great.

Leave a Reply

