SOS: Tips on homemade red wine vinegar?

Red Wine Vinegar & Olive Oil (source: Diana Renelli)

Red Wine Vinegar & Olive Oil (source: Diana Renelli)

They say honey attracts more flies than vinegar; however, as a dear friend is a beekeeper, I figure she’s got that side of things covered, so I am going to make vinegar my next big food project.

Last year was curing olives.  A few years ago, it was Christmas cake from my great-grandmother’s recipe (bake at least 6 weeks in advance and then soak on a weekly basis with brandy…yummm).

Well, this year I have decided to make red wine vinegar from scratch.  But I’m running into a few issues so thought I would throw my questions out to the universe (or at least to the readers of this blog) to see if any of you have any tips / insights that would help me.

The “Mother”: much like using a starter for sourdough bread or yogurt, vinegar needs a starter (called the “mother”).   It seems pretty easy to create your own mother for organic apple cider vinegar but not so much for red wine vinegar, so I may have to source this commercially.  If any one has recommendations on how to start it from scratch, or sources in Toronto or online where I can get this all-essential ingredient, I would appreciate it.

The Crock:  most of the articles I’ve read recommend a ceramic crock that has an open top and a spigot at the bottom (to drain off and test the vinegar).   I have searching the  internet and it seems like my only option to buy an expensive crock designed for water…again, I would be grateful for any suggestion or tips on alternatives.

The Process:  I don’t know how many of you have made red wine vinegar from scratch (and if you haven’t, I will definitely be sharing the process during the coming months in case you become inspired) but I totally welcome any tips or advice from those experienced vinegar-makers!

Stayed tuned for updates on the Red Wine Vinegar Project…

PS:  huge shout out to my wonderful friend & photographer, Diana Renelli, who did a amazingly creative job stepping up the plate when I idly posed the question to her earlier this week, over coffee: “If I were to do a post on Vinegar, what type of image would work?”.

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SOS: Tips on homemade red wine vinegar?

  1. Pingback: Serendipity & Success! Homemade Red Wine Vinegar | tea & tamarind

Leave a Reply

