Berry Easy Dessert!

Galette with Blueberries, Raspberries & Blackberries

Galette with Blueberries, Raspberries & Blackberries

As those of you who read this blog frequently already know, I am not a baker but I have always wanted to make a fruit galette…the free form-ness of them fly in the face of structured baking norms and also appeal to my aesthetic sense.

We hosted a dinner last night – given the rich abundance of local berries right now, I figured it was time to break with my anti-baking stand and attempt a debut berry galette…so easy and  it received many raves.

The recipe is very simple and although it calls for a food processor to make the pastry, the SO doesn’t have one and I didn’t feel like heading home to get my Cuisinart so I just made the pastry by hand….just dig your hands into the pastry and make sure you mix the butter and the flour/sugar as finely as possible…and the butter needs to be chilled!

The key to making this easy is to roll out the pastry right onto the parchment paper – you can then shift the whole crust (with paper) easily onto a baking tray before you add the fruit filling.  After baking, I just cut / tore around the excess parchment paper before plating it on a big platter and dusting it with icing sugar.

I used blackberries, raspberries and blueberries but you can use any berries that are in season…

I will definitely be adding this to my repertoire going forward – I am already thinking about “tweaks” I can make for future versions (vanilla sugar sprinkled on top, cinnamon or ginger in the crust, serving it with sour cream…the options are endless).

I have seen galettes made in cast-iron pans and think I want to try that next – any advice on that front?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Berry Easy Dessert!

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    They are also good with apples or pears or plums.

  2. Vinny Grette says:

    It’s like a berry pizza!

  3. I am definitely going to make this. It looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

