Too pretty to eat…well, almost…

Risotto with prawns, preserved lemon and tarragon

Risotto with prawns, preserved lemon and tarragon

Although I love to cook and feed people, I will readily admit that I have no talent in “plating” – presenting a dish that is composed, beautiful and picture-perfect.  I do try but  don’t seem to have the knack so I appreciate it when I see it done well.

I am in Vancouver for work this weekend and was just out at a lunch meeting.  When this dish of Biodynamic Risotto, Side Stripe Prawns, Preserved Lemon & Tarragon was placed in front of me, I just had to take a photo to preserve the moment.  And believe me, it tasted even better than it looked!

One of the things that my sister and I both try to do whenever we visit Vancouver is to have seafood at least once a day.   You can get great seafood in Toronto and London but there is just something about enjoying seafood in a city that is right on the ocean.  So prawns today, who knows what tomorrow and Sunday will bring?

Do you have any tips on plating that you are willing to share?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Too pretty to eat…well, almost…

  1. Sean Breslin says:

    Wow…that looks great!

  2. Jenny says:

    My dear old dad always told me that the easiest way to make your food look tasty and appealing to the eye was to serve it on a white plate, the food need not compete with the dinner plate. (This was a subtle hint from Bob for me to get rid of my funky paisley plates circa 1995) Finally in 2007, I ditched all of my funky colourful plates and replaced them with bistro style white ones. My food has looked much tastier ever since and I think that my dad would finally approve!

Leave a Reply

