Red & White (and green) Salad: Happy Canada Day!

Watermelon & Feta Salad

Watermelon & Feta Salad

Growing up, my mother was big on sit-down dinners every night, which always included salad.  That’s how I learned that the best bits are always at the bottom of the salad bowl…you have to fish for them.   Although my mother made most of our salads, my father reserved the right to make one salad – Caesar – and it was always a big production that included rubbing the inside of the wooden bowl with raw garlic…we knew it was a special occasion when that happened.

Despite this, I was never a great salad maker (much like I don’t consider myself a great sandwich maker).  But I was lucky enough to spend a few years with an ex who was amazing at making salads and I learned the key from him.  Always use the freshest, best ingredients you have available and often, simpler is better.

One of my favourite everyday salads is so simple – toss fresh mixed greens with the juice from 1/2 lemon, a few splashes of really good olive oil, a grind of fresh pepper, and a bit of sea salt.  After tossing, top with a few shavings of really good Parmesan.  Not fancy, no special dressing, not complicated, but so darn good!

I made one of my favourite summer salads last night and realized that the colours really spoke to today – Canada Day – so I thought I’d share…

Watermelon & Feta Salad

Throw fresh mixed greens into a large salad bowl (enough to fill half or three-quarters of the bowl) and then crumble about 4-5 tbs of good feta into the bowl.  Add freshly ground pepper, a toss of sea salt, the juice from 1/2 – 1 lemon and a few quick splashes of good olive oil.  Toss and then add in cubed watermelon (according to taste and volume for the rest of the salad) and then toss again.  Believe me…you will definitely be fishing to the bottom of this salad 🙂

Question:  thinking back to your childhood, when watermelons actually had those gorgeous big black seeds, how many  of you played the game where you would stick three watermelon seeds on your forehead (each seed with the initial of a boy you liked) and then the last seed to fall off meant that was the boy who you were going to marry?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Memories, Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red & White (and green) Salad: Happy Canada Day!

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    OMG! I did. Didn’t marry him, though. I also make a watermelon and feta salad. No greens, but I add black olives and fresh mint. Sometimes all I do is squeeze lime juice on it. Sometimes I make a dressing of lemon juice, honey, olive oil and thyme.

    • kate magee says:

      I love that I wasn’t the only one who did the watermelon seed on the forehead thing! After I posted it, I wondered if we were the only ones 🙂 I love the idea of adding black olives and lime juice. I did add some lemon basil to the salad last night and it was lovely…but will have to try your additions next time…

Leave a Reply

