Taste of the Maritimes

Lobster heaven

Lobster heaven

There is something about eating lobster that feels so….decadent.   I’m not sure whether it’s the sense of reward after you have worked to get the meat out of the shell, or maybe it’s that perfect partnership with melted butter?   Whatever the reason, it is always a special treat.

We had a gorgeous feast of lobster last night, courtesy of the SO’s brother who lives on Prince Edward Island.   They arrived in town with a dozen fresh lobsters, clams, and mussels to feed the clan…so much gorgeous fresh seafood that we couldn’t finish it all.   And the kitchen smelled like the sea with everything steaming away – heaven!

Although lobster is plentiful and easy to cook, I realize that I am not ready to make it a regular part of my home cooking.  I don’t want to lose that sense of indulging in wonderful luxury when I enjoy my lobster.

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Cooking, Random musings, Seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taste of the Maritimes

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Fresh seafood, simply steamed, dipped in melted butter. It is decadent, deliciously so. My favourite food. And I agree. One shouldn’t eat it so often it loses its soecialness.

    • kate magee says:

      I used to really really love mussels done in a white wine broth but I think I OD’d on them…it was good to try fresh mussels again last night. Reminded me that it might be time to add them back on the menu 🙂

  2. johncpicardi says:

    WOW!

Leave a Reply

