Ouch!

Ouch!

Ouch!

Got a little overzealous dicing onions last night…but after years of cooking, just bandaged myself up and kept going.

I guess it says something about how committed you are to your passions when you willingly sustain injuries in the process – I have burned myself on oven racks, scalded myself with hot water, sliced my fingers on the mandolin, knicked myself more times that I care to remember with knives…all in the pursuit of what I love.

It now occurs to me that I should be keeping the first aid kit in the kitchen, not in the bathroom as I only seem to use it for some cooking-related accident…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Random musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ouch!

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    I’ve even needed stitches from cooking-related accidents.

    • Katherine Magee says:

      Yikes! Care to share the ‘gory’ details? 😉

      • fransiweinstein says:

        It was so mundane, it’s almost embarassing. I was chopping celery to go into a seafood quiche I was making. The knife slipped and cut me, in that fleshy part between your thumb and first finger. It wasn’t a big cut but it was deep and would not stop bleeding, no matter what I tried. So after 30 minutes of non stop blood I went to emerg. Of course it happened at night after my doctor’s office was closed. I needed 5 stitches and a tetanus shot. The doctor was a real cutie and we dated for a while.

      • katem5 says:

        Have to love a story that starts with blood & pain, and ends with a little romance!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      • fransiweinstein says:

        🙂

Leave a Reply

