Can’t Get Enough…

Spinach Quesadilla

Spinach Quesadilla

Do you ever go through phases when you are absolutely obsessed with a food?  Where you could eat it with every meal?  This can last days or weeks, and then just as quickly as the obsession started, it ends.

I am currently going through a spinach phase.   Why?  Don’t know…maybe my body is telling me that it needs more folic acid and Vitamin A?  I have happily been munching my way through the green stuff for the last few weeks.   Handfuls into my morning smoothie, spinach salads at lunch and I have been making spinach quesadillas for dinner after being inspired by another blog post.

I’m not sure how long this phase is going to last, but I am going to keep enjoying my spinach…at least this is a healthy obsession.  Who knows…the next one could be chocolate 🙂

What’s your latest food obsession?

Spinach Quesadilla (for two)

I usually use two large bunches of fresh spinach but you can also use frozen spinach.   Once the spinach is washed, throw it into a large pot with a little bit of water and cook on medium high until wilted (about 5 – 10 minutes).  It will look like too much spinach, but remember that it reduces by about three-quarters when cooked.

While the spinach is cooking, saute about 1/2 diced onion in a little olive oil.    Mix the spinach and onion together and add grated cheese – I use a combination of mozzarella and feta.  You can also toss in some grated firm tofu if you want.

Heat a large skillet on the stove, then place one tortilla down, spread the spinach & cheese mixture on top and then place one tortilla on top of this.   After 5 minutes (or when browned on the bottom), invert the quesadilla onto a plate and slide back  into the skillet to brown the other side.    When done, cut into quarters and serve.

I promise that this sounds like more work than it actually is…

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Recipes, Vegetables / Herbs / Salads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can’t Get Enough…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    At least you’re obsessed with something that’s good for you. It worked well for Popeye.

  2. Barb says:

    I’ve been going through an asparagus thing, what with all the fresh Ontario asparagus in the market. Not quite so attractive was my Allen’s green licorice laces phase.

Leave a Reply

