Gee Whiz!

Gourmet Cheese Whiz & Celery

Gourmet Cheese Whiz & Celery

I don’t about the rest of you but Cheez Whiz was part of my childhood.  Something about that fluorescent orange colour instantly brings back memories….not just of cheesy celery sticks but also of TV ads that would run in the late 70’s featuring all the different ways you could use Kraft products (like mixing peanut butter and mini marshmallows to wrap around apples and there were always those tiny multi-hued Kraft dinner mints…)

My mother (called occasionally by her daughters, in a loving yet teasing tone,  the “Queen of Condiments”) always has a jar of Cheez Whiz in the fridge – and I do occasionally indulge when I am back home visiting by slathering it thickly on a slice of really good toasted bread.

However, you won’t find it in my food stock (especially after reading this recent article) but I did miss having a yummy cheesy spread…

I love good cheese and always over-indulge in cheese shops, which means I am  left with those little nubblets that won’t get eaten up before they go off.  Being a frugal cook, I always hated to throw them away…such a waste…until I found this amazing recipe a few years ago. Now, I can satisfy both my thrifty sense and also enjoy what I call my  “Gourmet Cheese Whiz” (aka “Fromage Fort”).  The key to this to throw all those nubbles of cheese (rind & mold removed first!) into a bag in the freezer until you accumulate about 500 grams.

Gourmet Cheese Whiz

Using a food processor, whiz together the defrosted cheese along with 1 clove of garlic, 1 tbs of unsalted butter and a few rounds of freshly ground pepper.  Add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of white wine slowly until you get the consistency you like.  Depending on the cheeses you are using, you may also want to add some salt at this stage.

*You can use broth or milk as your liquid

**You can also do this by grating the cheese and mixing by hand

I use this on sandwiches instead of mayonnaise, smooth it out with yogurt for a veggie dip, spread it on celery sticks…you get the picture.

I’m pretty sure most of us have Cheez Whiz memories in our past…what are yours?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Memories, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gee Whiz!

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    OMG! I loved Cheez Whiz. I especially loved it on toasted english muffins. And you know, it’s weird. A year or so ago I was at Loblaws and they had a display of it. It had been a long time since I’d had any and thought, “What the hell”. So I bought a small jar and a package of english muffins and couldn’t wait to get home and indulge.

    It tasted funny. Not good at all. I checked and it wasn’t passed the expiry date. It was really perplexing. So I just figured my tastebuds had become too sophisticated.

    But now that I’ve read the article you’ve linked to, I get it. It’s not the same product any more.

    How do you take the cheese out of a cheese product? Is anyone honest anymore?

  2. Barb says:

    I’ve also always loved Cheez Whiz. It used to be cheesier, not so much the “cheese product” it is today. You spread it on a celery stick, dot raisins along the cheese, and voila!, ants on a log. Or you spread it on toast and then melt it under the broiler.
    The article is from the book “Salt, Sugar, Fat”, and just one of many scary stories about all those packaged products sitting on the shelf at the grocery store.

    • katem5 says:

      I had forgotten all about “ants on a log”! Brings back even more memories 🙂 And I definitely have to read “Salt,Sugar, Fat” after your recommendation…it is next on my list after I finish “Wild” which I am finding fascinating…

Leave a Reply

