Cooking for one

Popcorn & CarrotsWhen I was younger, I never saw the sense in cooking a meal just for myself.   I survived, quite happily, for many years on what I used to call my “single girl’s dinner” (popcorn & carrots) on the nights I was home.  I still loved to cook but never quite understood why I would go to all that bother just to feed me.

This has changed over the last few years.   It really hit home last night when I arrived back from a long day at a conference: I could have gone out to eat or grabbed take-out but I really craved a home-cooked meal.  I wanted to decompress from my day by spending time in the kitchen…

I realize that I am lucky in several ways:  I live alone so it doesn’t matter to anyone but me if I eat out or dine in; I live in a downtown neighbourhood with easy access to great vegetable & fruit stores / butchers / bakeries so I can shop in the late afternoon for fresh ingredients to turn into my evening meal;  and I am very happy eating leftovers so if I want to cook a “big” dish like a lasagna or pumpkin soup, it won’t go to waste.

I still love to cook for more than just me – I get great joy from feeding other people, but I am happy to report that I am now getting a bit more variety beyond carrots & popcorn in my dinner menus.

What are your thoughts on cooking for just one?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Random musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cooking for one

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    I usually cook enough for the next day, as well. And I must say, I do go the take-out route as well.

Leave a Reply

