Celebrating Squid…

I gave up ordering calamari in restaurants a few years ago because it was always over-cooked, tough and chewy.  But I do love squid.  My brother-in-law’s squid stew is legendary and is always a much-requested menu item whenever we visit.Squid

We were at St. Lawrence Market yesterday morning trolling around for inspiration for dinner and I came across large cleaned squid.  Hmmm…stuffed squid on the grill…???  Done!

It turned into a “group” effort.  While I was making the stuffing, my SO was researching online how you grill stuffed squid exactly (first time for him, and he IS an engineer..) and his daughter kept me company while I cooked.  And there was even a phone call to my mum to ask her ideas on what herbs to use in the stuffing.  The perfect dish to make on a lazy holiday Saturday afternoon…

Grilled Stuffed Squid (for 3)

Grilled Stuffed Squid

Grilled Stuffed Squid

Take 3 large cleaned squid tubes (make sure you also get some tentacles).   Chop up the tentacles and 9 large shrimp, and saute with onion, garlic & finely diced tomato.  Add a dash of white wine and lemon juice towards end of saute-ing.   Let cool and mix in some rice for bulk, some cooked shredded crab meat and herbs.   Stuff the squid tubes & close the ends with tooth picks.  Brush with olive oil, grill for about 15 minutes (turning frequently).  I did have some stuffing left over so I added more white wine to make a sauce to pour over the grilled squid and served with lemon wedges.

Now, the squid is not the prettiest sea creature – personally I believe that the sea horse takes this claim, and I have a very soft spot for beluga whales because they just look so jovial — but it is amazing to watch a squid as it propels itself through the water with grace.   Check this out if you’re interested…

What’s your favourite way to prepare squid (aka calamari)?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating Squid…

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Mmmmm …

    I also like mine sauteed with olive oil, garlic, capers, chopped kalamata olives, a little chopped fresh tomato ( Roma preferably), a little bit of white wine, a little bit of lemon juice at the end and garnished with some chopped flat leaf parsley. And a grind or two of fresh pepper.

    • katem5 says:

      aaaaah…capers & kalamata olives! Excellent suggestions and will definitely add these next time…as there will be a next time. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

