Comfort Food

I woke up this morning to unseasonably cold weather…walking the dog this morning involved jeans & a sweater rather than the sandals and shorts I’ve gotten used to over the last few weeks.  And I should have included a jacket, mittens & socks as part of my ensemble.

What is about cold weather that immediately gets me thinking about comfort food?

I have spent all morning dreaming of rich, slowly cooked in the oven, delicious things that will fill the house with wonderful aromas…old standbys like lasagna, beef casserole, mac & cheese…you get the picture…

But my freezer is full and I am out for dinner for the next three nights, and by then, we should hopefully be back to the warm weather we’ve all been enjoying over a long winter.  Sigh…

I did indulge this morning though in one of my favourite comfort breakfast dishes after coming in from a cold morning walk or run.   For one person, throw 1/2 cup of quinoa in a small rice cooker along with 1 cup of almond milk.*   By the time you’ve had your shower, it should be done and then toss some chopped up dried apricots or cranberries, fresh pomengranate seeds, or whatever appeals to you on top.  I like to add a few dollops of natural yogurt as well.   Quick way to warm the belly as well as the soul!

*You can follow the directions, usually on the quinoa package, to do this on the stove top.

Now I am curious…  What’s your favourite go-to comfort food on a cold day?

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comfort Food

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Mmmm, sounds good. Have to try this.

  2. Julie P says:

    I put steel cut oatmeal in my slow cooker before I go to bed and wake up to a hot breakfast. Sure beats spending time cooking breakfast on a work day!

  3. Cooked fruits are my comfort food, preferably with a crumble topping, custard or cream! I made a decent quinoa porridge the other day using 1/2 quinoa and 1/2 barley semolina (or barley grits in America?), then added banana, sultanas, dried apricots, almond milk & a drizzle of honey.. delicious.

Leave a Reply

