The Day Begins….

I’m not sure about the rest of you but growing up, breakfast was a sit down meal for my family — fruit, cereal, juice, toast…and as an adult I am totally committed to starting my day with a meal (which now must include coffee & the local paper)…in fact, if I don’t have breakfast, woe betide anyone around me until I actually get food in my belly…

My mother made granola from scratch and although I deviate occasionally to store-bought when I run out, I do follow her rules about mixing up a batch every few months…felt inspired this afternoon so here’s the result…

Granola

No sugar, no honey, no oil…all the sweetness comes from dried fruit..   Last batch I added cinnamon, this batch I added coconut.  Really simple….throw a couple of heaping handfuls of oats & whatever nuts & dried fruit you have in the pantry / larder (chopped up) into a big baking pan at  400 degrees for about 30 minutes (stir occasionally – every 10 minutes or so – while baking) and you’re done…yummy health granola…

Bring on the day….

About kate magee

I am a lifelong foodie who lives in Toronto and spends much too much of my time thinking, preparing, eating and writing about food...
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Day Begins….

  1. Allison says:

    I usually have steel cut oats in the cupboard. However, I’m guessing you use rolled oats? Are there any other grains that could be used (I’m thinking maybe some of the ancient grains)?

Leave a Reply

